Re-working the Windermere Poem

Readers of this blog will be aware of my interest in the story of The Windermere Children the true and uplifting tale of the rescue of 300 Jewish kids from the concentration camps at the end of World War ll and the summer they spent in Calgarth by Windermere arranged by Leonard Montefiore.

I wrote a couple of poems with this as the subject which I’ve re-visited, re-worked and developed as a dual third and first person piece below. At some point I must organise a two part reading and recording of the poem …

If I were an artist, these words would include illustrations. It’s important to help children understand the significance of this story, especially in these days of conflict around the world and the plight of so many refugees, who’ve lost members of their families and their homes through no fault of their own.

Leave a comment